Boston

I’ve taken a couple of days to think of what to write in the wake of the horrible tragedy in Boston. I struggle when events like this happen. It’s hard for me to fathom that humankind has evolved to have such little empathy for each other that someone would purposely cause such devastation and destruction.

My heart aches for the families of those who were killed or injured, and for those who weren’t but had to witness such an atrocity. As a former runner, I think of the athletes who trained for years to attend the pinnacle of their running career, only to have the event marred by the tragedy. I think of my son, and the world that I brought him into. I worry about the things that he’s going to see and experience. I wonder how I’ll make sense of things like this for him when I don’t even understand it myself.

I’m a cynical person. I am easily overwhelmed by the amount of tragedy and despair in the world. Logically, I know that most people are helpful and good, and that events like this are the minority compared to the millions of good deeds that are done every day. But I get bogged down by the constant influx of bad news. How do I teach my son to not be the same way? How do I teach him empathy without making his heart heavy with despair?

My thoughts are with the people affected by this horrific event. I have no words for them except to say that I am sorry that something so senseless hurt so many people. I hope that the acts of kindness being carried out across the world will be the legacy of your loved ones, so we will all remember them too.

Tell me what you think!

