My New Life

Hello! I’ve been away for a while, but I’m still alive. Since I last posted, a lot has happened, and I’ve taken a few weeks to get my bearings and my head above water.

The big news is that my partner got a job working out of town. He’s working about 16 hours away, for four weeks at a time. He’ll be back at home for about a week and a half before heading back for another four weeks. That means that Baby P. and I are on our own most of the time now. When he first accepted the job, I was scared shitless. Could I do it? What would it be like to not get a break for a month at a time? Could I manage on my own?

The situation isn’t ideal, but the job that he got will help us out in some ways. Financially, it will greatly contribute to our income, which will help to offset the exorbitant cost of daycare. It will also allow me the option of working part-time.

Which brings me to my next news…I got a new job. It’s actually almost exactly the same as my old job. It’s for the same employer, and I’ll be doing the same thing, just for less hours. It means that Baby P. will be in daycare for four days a week as opposed to five, and I can pick him up around 4:00 instead of 6:00. That might not seem like much difference, but for moms with babies in daycare, you know that those couple of extra hours mean a lot.

So, Baby P. and I are just getting used to our first stint on our own. It’s honestly not as bad as I thought it would be. It’s tiring for sure, and I miss having my partner here, but we’re getting through the days. Although I feel a lot better about going back to work part-time, the clock is still ticking down to my sweet boy being in daycare. I’m just trying to enjoy these last couple of months, rest when I can, and hopefully get back to writing like I was. I hope that all of you are doing well, and I look forward to catching up with you and reading the posts that I missed when I was away!

One thought on “My New Life

  1. I have missed you! Congratulations on your new job – I know how hard it can be doing it on your own, but I know that the time that you all spend together will be that much more special! virtual hugs!!

Tell me what you think!

