A Serious Case of the Grumps

I don’t know what’s going on with me lately, but I just feel so…blah. Kind of moody, kind of grumpy. Just constantly irked.

Things with Baby P. are getting a bit better, but it was still a rough week. There were a few days where he basically just cried from the moment he got up until the moment he went to bed. And then he woke himself up and cried some more. Sometimes when I hold him he seems happier, but then when I have to put him down he starts crying again. It’s really exhausting. I know now that he’s teething for sure. Poor little dude. I feel for him and I do everything I can to make him more comfortable, but the crying still grates on my nerves by the end of the week.

Blah! Party logo

Blah! Party logo (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

My house is an absolute mess. There is baby stuff everywhere. I only managed to make dinner twice this week. I bought a bunch of cookbooks and was excited to get to try them out, but they’re just sitting unopened on my coffee table. I desperately, desperately want to start exercising but have no idea when to do it. By the time my partner comes home in the evening I am completely exhausted and ready for bed. My baby doesn’t really nap, so during the day doesn’t work, unless we go out for a walk or something (and the weather has been so crummy that hasn’t been possible for a while).

I look in the mirror and I just look…ugh. My eyes are puffy and red and my hair is in the same messy ponytail it was in two days ago. I’m wearing yoga pants and an Old Navy t-shirt, both covered in baby food and spit up. I’m weary and I don’t have the energy or motivation to do anything except for maybe go to bed and sleep for a week.

And then I hang out with my friends, other moms, and they just all seem like they have their shit together. They’re laughing and smiling and their babies are laughing and smiling and they seem to be having so much fun being a mom. It makes me feel like the worst mother in the world because my baby isn’t laughing and smiling, and I don’t know if it’s because of him or me. I look at people that I know who are pregnant, and they’re posting pictures of their sonogram and their cute little baby bumps and talking about how excited they are and how much they love their husbands and I just think, “Ugh. Go away.”

What is wrong with me? No one else seems to be struggling as much as I am, or at least they don’t show it as much as I do. I love my baby boy more than anything in the world but good God Almighty am I tired and grumpy. I just want to shut myself in my room and not talk to anyone until it passes. But I can’t, so I get up every day and try not to grump all over everyone I know. Am I the only one who feels this way?

4 thoughts on “A Serious Case of the Grumps

  1. I have a colic baby with reflux. He is almost 15 weeks and I can so much relate to your story. He is getting better, but had his full days of crying still. There are days when I hardly get to brush my teeth! I was very put-together before he arrived…never left house without makeup etc. My friends all have sack-of-flour babies and it looks so easy. My guy started to smile at 10weeks and that made it much easier. But yes, you’re soooo not alone. Hang in there. Some day our babies will be happy as all the rest, we just have a tougher time getting there. I think it makes us appreciate the happy times that much more!

    • Thank you so much for commenting and sharing your story. Honestly, sometimes it seems like every mom is having such a good time except me. It helps to hear that other people are going through the same thing. And I agree that when you have an unhappy baby, it makes the happy moments so much more special! You hang in there too :)

  2. I think there might be a tendency for parents to try to make it look like they have it all together, even if they don’t, or only barely do, or are struggling. There have been times when the demands of working and parenting meant that things like cleaning our house really got put on the back burner, which gets to be extra discouraging since I decided to start a partially house-themed blog for some reason. I haven’t had the guts yet to really show the messy side of things, and can’t help wondering how many other parents, even the ones who make it look wonderful and effortless and all-smiles-all-the-time, are actually eating themselves up inside over some aspect of their life where they feel like they’re falling short.

    • It’s interesting that you say that, because I think the same thing too. I know that all moms must struggle at some point, but might decide to not talk about it or show it for a variety of reasons. Maybe I’m just worse at hiding it than others are.

      You’ve actually inspired me to write a post revealing my messy house. Hopefully it will make other moms feel better, either because their house is messy too, or because they can say, “Well, at least my house doesn’t look like that!” ;)

Tell me what you think!

